For those who think: “You need to move on”

The day I moved on was the day I left him, left Barbados and never returned to either. There was another important MOVE that I have made along that path. The best move I ever made which was to BEGIN empowering myself and others by starting this blog. I flashback to the day I realized I didn’t know critical information about the culture, people, government, law enforcement, social and familial community of Barbados. I thought about how many other people may need to know the things I learned and I’ve been sharing ever since. 🙂

Memory Lane
https://focusbarbados.wordpress.com/2015/04/26/justice-delayed-is-justice-denied-human-rights-violations-in-barbados/?frame-nonce=cd6b12d940

Since starting this blog and making the decision TO STAY THE COURSE of speaking out about the lack of protection in place for the women and children of Barbados, there has been a major legislative amendment implemented. This implementation is key to change in Bajan culture which restricts the educational advancement of its’ people regarding social justice and human rights. Read more here: Domestic Violence Protection Orders Act Amendments. I talked about how many delays took place before these amendments actualized in blog posts such as:

https://focusbarbados.wordpress.com/2015/04/30/protocol-for-mandatory-child-abuse-reporting-has-been-delayed-year-after-year-in-barbados-as-the-number-of-child-abuse-cases-increased/?frame-nonce=cd6b12d940

a3f9b7235e69f71f3281f1c0ae732fd4

This “Focus Barbados” movement will continue to shine light where injustice hides, no…we will not stand and be neutral just because it’s also a personal journey and my taking things personal is offensive to those who seek to silence me. No, I’m not unbiased. Yes, I was hurt personally. And yet, I’m apart of a shared journey, a larger story and a bigger community context of women and children who can’t speak for or defend themselves. My grandma always said: “You either coming through it or heading to it”. She spoke these words to remind me that until you experience certain things in life, you will miscalculate the experience and/or inexperience of others. She was educating me to see social situations as experiences I could learn from. The day I started this blog was the day I started learning everything I’ve written. I taught myself how to find the information I needed in order to understand what happened to me. I was no expert then and neither am I now about violence and it’s impact. Yet we all learn something new everyday! So yup, I will be here updating because life goes on and raising awareness about injustice is to be continued.

download (10)

 This is what moving on looks like to Tru Focus (editor in chief) here at Focus Barbados. The following quote are my “relationship goals”, lol. The relationship that I have to this blog and to my experience is one that I can handle hosting. Thanks for your advice as you see it: “You need to move on”. But I live my life the way I see it:

United Nations Commission on the Status of Women hosts 61st session by Olayemi Odesanya | 3/16/2017

From March 13 to 24, the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women will be hosting its 61st session at the United Nations headquarters. The CSW is a global organization that focuses on the empowerment of and equality for women. In February 1947, the CSW had its first meeting in New York after the United Nations was founded. All 15 representatives of the CSW are women. Each year, the coalition focuses on a certain issue women face. This year the CSW will focus on employment opportunities for women.
http://amsterdamnews.com/news/2017/mar/16/united-nations-commission-status-women-hosts-61st-/

th (8)

The status of Bajan women as well as my own continued development, will always be a CURRENT AFFAIR to and for me as well as newsworthy. This blog is a series of status updates. Learn from them.

Impact on Society

Domestic Violence in its many forms has serious physical and psychological consequences on the victims, as well as on their families and the community as a whole. It is a grave human rights issue that affects all areas of society including health, economic, political, educational and developmental sectors. A socio-economic impact of Domestic Violence on Eastern Caribbean countries has never been conducted extensively. Domestic Violence hampers the realisation of harmonious human development, thus hindering the achievement of a quality labour market and cutting short economic growth prospects. One study exists on the cost of sexual abuse and domestic violence in Trinidad and Tobago. The cost of sexual abuse and domestic violence in 2005 was estimated at TT$487.7 million or 0.51 percent of Gross Domestic Product (UWISTA; 2008). This represents approximately US$76 million (at the September 2013 exchange rate).

 

So, moving right along then. Here I am. And you are.
Thanks for agreeing that forward is the way to go.
Barbados must therefore embrace change and MOVE ON from the barbaric and inhumane systems and societal norms that promote violence against women and children.

Progress is one move away. “You need to move on” is my advice to all users and abusers. Improve.  😉

e8b304afbf729063721f0651bf58ea34

-Tru Focus

#ProtectTheChildren

Leave a Reply

